Photography

#ThankfulFor 30-Day Challenge

For the month of November, I did (another) photo challenge on Instagram. [To check out the challenge I did in September for #snapshotsforsanity, go here! Also, for anyone who read that post immediately after I published it, you’ll realize something: the photos below are the same that were in the other post. I posted the wrong photos last time because I’m dumb (and sleep-deprived, but also dumb). Please go check out the correct photos in the other post if you haven’t already! 🙂 ]

I’ve had things to be grateful for every year of my life, of course, but I think 2015 has to top the charts. My son, my husband, my house, my family, my job—just to touch on the big ones! I saw this challenge while searching for a photo-a-day that interested me and thought it was perfect.


I must say, I am really proud of a good amount of these photos! I’m notorious for petering out on photo challenges, and also for taking really shitty photos just to meet the requirement for the day (which you’ll see below), but I stuck with this one. Some photos I am merely satisfied with, and a few (in particular, Days 7, 15, 24, and 25) I’m just like…yeah, I was lazy, I know. Hah!

Anyway, enjoy! And Happy December! The new year is just around the corner…

#ThankfulForDay6 || a memory || December 2010 was the last time I felt truly joyful at Christmas. That year, I looked ahead to the ones to come and felt hopeful, excited, happy. John proposed to me next to our first real Christmas tree ($20 at Wal*Mart #brokepeopleproblems) on the 13th, and the New Year never seemed so promising. While December 2011 wasn't necessarily bad, it wasn't as memorable. December 2012 brought the death of my grandfather on Christmas Day. December 2013 brought my second miscarriage, the news of which was delivered on Christmas Eve. December 2014 was spent with Joey safely still in my belly and alive—but it was fraught with grief, anxiety, and fear. 🎄🎁 I hope December 2015 can bring with it a rekindled love for my favorite time of the year…but until then, I will continue to look back on and be thankful for the one that came five years before. 🦃 #novemberphotochallenge

A post shared by Samantha Keenan (@sammipants08) on

#ThankfulForDay10 || a book || (Forgot to post this yesterday!) A small part of me hates that so much of this challenge is centering around my miscarriages/infertility/rainbow baby, but it is what it is? 📖 I put this on my wish list after my first loss and received it as a Christmas present the day after the D&E for my second. I've had a strong connection with Demi Lovato for a while now—depression, anxiety, self harm, and we also share a birthday—so it only made sense that I felt so strongly about getting my hands on this book. Though I have yet to finish it in its entirety, I've read most of it over the last two years. 😌💪🏼 #stayingstrong I still appreciate it, even now. 🦃 #novemberphotochallenge

A post shared by Samantha Keenan (@sammipants08) on

#ThankfulForDay12 || an appliance || I AM THANKFUL FOR MY KEURIG. ☕️💜 I got this as a gift off my wedding registry at my bridal shower in early 2012. Still works like a champ. Even while pregnant, I started every day with [decaf] coffee. I know it's probably the shittiest available form of coffee but I'm used to it. Besides, I am broke as fuck so I don't get to buy coffee from coffee shops like Dunkin or Starbucks or MaryLou's! (Unless, of course, your friends totally unnecessarily send you an eGiftCard for Dunkin because you're having a shit-tastic week. Even though they didn't have to. Because they are so sweet. #ALLTHEFEELS ☕️💞 @beckdogenator @just_holly7916 @aislinn.m.n @sarahjkl @punstrel) 🦃 #novemberphotochallenge

A post shared by Samantha Keenan (@sammipants08) on

#ThankfulForDay14 || a smile || Yeah, I really feel like this one needs zero explanation. 🦃 #novemberphotochallenge

A post shared by Samantha Keenan (@sammipants08) on

#ThankfulForDay30 || a photo || In May of 2012, I had a special grandfather–daughter dance with my only surviving grandparent. 📷 In December of 2012, on Christmas Day, he died after a quick and furious battle with the cancer he was diagnosed with shortly after I said "I do." Christmas has been hard since that year. Christmas this year is going to be amazing for one really big reason, and part of me wishes Gramps was around for it. But I also know this lovely home we have wouldn't have been possible without him. Maybe even our son wouldn't have been possible without him. I'll keep my grandfather alive in my memories, and look back on these photos when I need more than that. I'll dream of what it would've been like to have him around with Joey. 🎶 "And I think to myself…what a wonderful world." #imissyou 🦃 #novemberphotochallenge

A post shared by Samantha Keenan (@sammipants08) on

I Would Love to Hear Your Thoughts!

