ipsy Glam Bag

ipsy February 2015 Glam Bag: Review

IMG_3173
©Motherhood & Everything Else

ipsy February 2015 Glam Bag

©Motherhood & Everything Else

Product: ModelCo Cosmetics Blush, Cosmopolitan, .12oz palette
Retail Value: $20.00-$22.00 for a palette (ModelCo)
First Impression: Yeesh. Blush. I’m not a blush-kind-of-girl. My cheeks are naturally very rosy. More so when you get a drink or two in me (which is when I’d most often be wearing makeup—when I’m out for the night). In fact, I put on makeup to hide my overly-flushed cheeks! Also, I couldn’t find a size when researching price online (not available anywhere like Amazon or Target), and it seems incredibly expensive. Yeesh again.
Overall Impression: I ended up using this when I was a bridesmaid in my friend’s wedding! (You’ll actually find this statement a lot over the next few reviews—what better way to use nice makeup than at a wedding?) The maid-of-honor applied it with a brush after using a lot of foundation to neutralize my champagne-flushed cheeks in order to add back some color. She didn’t use a lot, but she didn’t need to. It was light, a nice color, and definitely worked for the situation at hand.
Review: ★★★☆☆

Would I Buy It? Probably not, but only because of the aforementioned reasons. My cheeks are naturally rosy, so I never use blush. To be honest, I would probably try something cheaper in order to compare it to something before trying this!

©Motherhood & Everything Else

Product: Mitchell and Peach Flora No. 1 Fine Radiance Face Oil, .34oz bottle
Retail Value: £30.00/$46.71, .67oz bottle (Mitchell and Peach)
First Impression: It’s British!
Overall Impression: I did not use this long enough to make an educated decision! It’s also a teeny bottle…it smelled nice, and when I put it on at night it seemed to bring back the moisture in my face that my cleanser in the morning extracted. So, I guess, win?
Review: ★★☆☆☆

Would I Buy It? No, just because…I don’t do oils. Maybe later. I don’t know.

©Motherhood & Everything Else

Product: City Color Lip Stain, Flirtini, .08oz tube
Retail Value: $4.98 .08oz tube (Amazon)
First Impression: As a mostly natural/mild gloss type of person, the idea of a lip stain—and in such a bold color—was a little concerning for me!
Overall Impression: Mwa ha ha…I used this for a bachelorette party! It was perfect. As I said, I’m not about the bold lips. But the night called for bold, so I went bold. I applied this over another lipstick (coincidentally enough, another ipsy product!) and the result was some very va-va-voom lips. I was satisfied. 🙂
Review: ★★★☆☆

Would I Buy It? I doubt it. But, again, I’m not a lipstick person! This isn’t very expensive, though, and coupled with the other lipstick, I thought it worked for the occasion.

©Motherhood & Everything Else

Product: Eva NYC Up All Night Volumizing Spray, 1oz bottle
Retail Value: $12.00, 8oz bottle (Amazon)
First Impression: I’m not really a hairspray kind of person, but there’s always something going on every once in a while that calls for it. And…
Overall Impression: …you called it. Bachelorette party. 🙂 It held my hair up pretty well! I only used it the one time because, like I said, don’t really use hairspray that much. (I’m more of a “put-my-hair-in-a-bun-and-call-it-a-day” type.) 
Review: ★★☆☆☆
Would I Buy It? Probably not. I have Dove hairspray that I like more (and hardly use).

©Motherhood & Everything Else

Product: Emite Make Up Eyelash Curler
Retail Value: $22.00 (Amazon)
First Impression: I have never used an eyelash curler. Ever. *coughs nervously, calls mom for advice*
Overall Impression: Surprise, surprise. I used this for the wedding. HAH! And I think it worked? It certainly terrified me. The maid-of-honor thought my fear was amusing.
Review: ★★★☆☆

Would I Buy It? No. Because this one is probably enough for the amount of times I’ll use it. Plus, over $20 for this thing? Just why?


ipsy Glam Bag Price: $10.00
ipsy Glam Bag Product Value (including full sizes): $105.69
I Would Love to Hear Your Thoughts!

